Musical Postcards

SSU Symphony Orchestra Presents Concert with Rhoslyn Jones May 1 in Weill Hall
April 13, 2016

Acclaimed lyric soprano Rhoslyn Jones joins the Sonoma State University Symphony Orchestra for an evening of 'Musical Postcards' on May 1 at 7:30 p.m. in Weill Hall at the Green Music Center.

A native of Aldergrove, BC, Jones was an Adler Fellow at the San Francisco Opera in 2006-2007 and is on the voice faculty at Sonoma State. She will perform with the orchestra in Samuel Barber's "Knoxville: Summer of 1915."

Conductor Alexander Kahn leads the fledgling student orchestra in its second ever performance. The program also includes Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture and Haydn's London Symphony, No. 104.

American composer Samuel Barber (1910-1981) was a maverick - a romantic lyricist at a time when other composers were writing atonal music. Today, his music is second only to that of Aaron Copland and George Gershwin in popularity. Composed in 1947, "Knoxville: Summer of 1915" is a setting of James Agee's poem about life in a quiet Southern town at the dawn of the modern age. Ruefully narrated by a young boy, Knoxville is a nostalgic recreation of lost innocence.

Tickets are free for students, $8 for general admission. Parking is included with ticket price.

Related links:
Rhoslyn Jones

SSU Symphony Orchestra